Watering Can symbolising growth

Newsletter Subscribe

Newsletter Subscribe

Outset® founder, Bev Hurley, honoured at ‘First Women Awards’

It has been announced that Bev Hurley, CEO of YTKO and founder of the Outset® programme and the Enterprising Women community was among a special group of Britain’s trailblazing women recognised at the First Women Awards on 30th June.

Eleven pioneering British women were honoured at the 2011 First Women Awards ceremony on 30 June in London, hosted by BBC sports presenter Clare Balding, in association with Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets.

Bev Hurley scooped the Business Services award. Bev has dedicated the past 30 years to promoting entrepreneurial skills in others. Through projects such as Enterprising Women, she has helped thousands of women to bring their business ideas to fruition and to help existing businesswomen accelerate their business growth. As another example, she helped catalyse Norfolk’s economic performance by creating a dynamic, sustainable, innovation and enterprise community, The Norfolk Network, and is now transforming the provision of business mentoring to new entrepreneurs through Outset Norfolk.

As CEO, she has grown the economic development and business support consultancy YTKO into new markets and regions, delivering outstanding growth in the public and private sector. She was recognised particularly for her commitment to improving the opportunities for female entrepreneurs and founders of business enterprises.

Bev says, “The calibre of women shortlisted for these awards was exceptional, so I was thrilled, humbled and honoured in equal measure. My aims are to use the award to encourage the government to unlock the huge economic potential of women in business, and to inspire other successful female entrepreneurs to join me as a UK Ambassador and enterprise mentor.”

The First Women Awards, created by Real Business and the CBI, and held in association with Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets, honour women whose achievements open up opportunities for others.

This year’s winners include Emer Timmons, BT’s first ever female president of its Global Services UK and GS Systems Integrators business arms, and Juliet Davenport, the only female chief executive in the UK’s renewables industry and founder of renewable electricity supplier, Good Energy.

Dr Liz Nelson OBE, co-founder of research giant Taylor Nelson, was presented with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award accolade at this year’s glittering ceremony.

In previous years, First Women Awards have been presented to Specsavers founder Dame Mary Perkins DBE and the UK’s first female MD of a commercial vehicle manufacturer, Nikki King OBE.

Diana Brightmore-Armour, CEO of Corporate Banking at Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets, says, “This year’s winners demonstrate the breadth of talent that women bring to all areas of our economy – they are truly outstanding!

“The recognition these awards offer is vital in providing inspiration to future generations of women and we are proud to support such an important programme once again.”

The champion for the awards – now in their seventh year – is Helen Alexander, the first female president of the CBI, and judges included founder and managing director of The Eden Project Gaynor Coley, ITV’s commercial director Fru Hazlitt, and entrepreneur Pinky Lilani OBE.

The ceremony was attended by more than 400 guests including the Lords Spokesperson for the Cabinet Office and for Women and Equalities, Baroness Verma and Shadow Home Secretary Yvette Cooper.

Supporters of the First Women Awards, in association with Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets include: BAE Systems; BT, ICAEW; Rolls-Royce; Harvey Nash; the Institution of Mechanical Engineers; Benenden Healthcare Society; Land Rover, and Centrica.

The First Women Awards, in association with Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets, are hosted by Caspian Media’s Real Business and this year’s ceremony took place on 30 June at the Grand Connaught Rooms, London.

The Outset® programme is delivered in locations across the country by YTKO. Headquartered in Cambridge, YTKO is an award-winning economic development and business support agency with more than 30 years of experience in serving both the public and private sectors. YTKO’s client focus and strong delivery has earned international recognition in the public sector, and several best practice awards. These include the prestigious Prowess ‘Flagship of Flagships’ Award, awarded for excellence in women’s enterprise support for all services in all locations, as well as the endorsement of the 8,000-strong Enterprising Women community by the Department of Business Innovation & Skills (BIS) as one of three national best practice examples of support for entrepreneurship. More information can be found at www.ytko.com

For further information on the awards visit: http://fwa.realbusiness.co.uk/

The other winners are:

Vin Murria (Finance) – one of Vin’s greatest achievements to date is growing Advanced Computer Software’s market value to £170 million in just over two years as chief executive officer for the firm.

Alexandra Knight (Manufacturing and Engineering) – leads the medical engineering marketing campaign and a number of Frazer Nash Consultancy’s technical projects from submarine integrity analysis to children’s wheelchair designs.

Kate Hall (Property) – has worked on two of the UK’s key infrastructure projects, leading Arup’s Olympic Park Infrastructure Design Team for London 2012 as well as Arup’s new High Speed Rail engineering study.

Liv Sandbaek (Science and Technology) – the first woman to gain a position of her kind within the technology industry, Liv is the managing director of Accenture’s Strategic Industrialization Programme.

Thomasina Miers (Tourism and Leisure) – her chain of Wahaca restaurants has won the 35 year-old critical acclaim for being the first to recreate the atmosphere and style of Mexico’s street markets within central London.

Juliet Davenport (Retail and Consumer – joint winner) – Juliet is the only female chief executive in the UK’s renewables industry and founder of renewable electricity supplier, Good Energy.

Carolyn Webster (Public Service) – European programmes manager for Jobcentre Plus, Carolyn was described by the judges as ‘a committed servant to Cornwall and its people’.

Thea Green (Retail & Consumer – joint winner) – Thea was recently given an MBE for her work in the industry and has successfully established the global Nails Inc brand as a leading competitor in the global beauty market, which has a turnover of over £15 million.

Emer Timmons (Business Services – joint winner) – BT’s first ever female president of its Global Services UK and GS Systems Integrators, Emer has grown the UK business arm by 25 per cent in the last year through a series of major customer wins in a challenging market.

Dr Elizabeth Nelson (Lifetime Achievement Award) – co-founder of research giant, Taylor Nelson

Shire Pharmaceuticals (First Women Business of the Year) – the only FTSE 100 business where women make up 50 per cent of the executive leadership team.

The judging panel included:

– Diana Brightmore-Armour, CEO of Corporate Banking at Lloyds Banking Group
- Gaynor Coley, managing director, The Eden Project
- Albert Ellis, CEO, Harvey Nash
- Robin Fieth, chief operating officer, ICAEW
- Sheila Flavell, COO, FDM
- Alun Griffiths, HR director, Atkins
- Fru Hazlitt, commercial director, ITV
- Margaret Heffernan, writer and entrepreneur
- Marion King, Chief Executive, VocaLink
- Nikki King OBE, CEO, Isuzu Truck UK Ltd
- Pinky Lilani OBE, founder, Spice Magic Ltd
- Rudy Lobo, chief operating officer, Regus Group
- Eric Musgrave, retail specialist and former editorial director, Drapers’ Record
- Dr Liz Nelson OBE, entrepreneur
- Alison Nimmo, director of design and regeneration, Olympic Delivery Authority
- Sara Parker, director of London, CBI
- Stephen Tetlow, CEO, Institution of Mechanical Engineers